About Us


The San Juan County Sheriff’s Office is a full service law enforcement agency and the primary agency for the unincorporated, non-reservation portion of San Juan County. This equates to an approximate land area of 2,000 square miles and a population of 127,000 people. Our entire team consists of 102 certified deputies and 25 civilian personnel as well as varying levels of volunteers and reserve deputies.

On Average the Sheriff’s Office handles approximately 55,000 calls for service ranging from homicides to vehicle collisions. The 102 certified deputies of SJCSO are a mixture of the following divisions: patrol, detectives, narcotics, aviation, civil and training.

Aside from promotions and divisional transfers, there are many opportunities for employee growth at the Sheriff’s Office, such as police instructor, SWAT team member, tactical flight officer, etc.

The main Sheriff’s Office is located in the county seat in Aztec, New Mexico. In addition to the main office, there are substations located in the Lee Acres area as well as the Kirtland area.


Published by